The Google News Initiative Innovation Challenge program empowers news organizations from around the world to demonstrate new thinking in online journalism, better understand their communities and develop new publishing business models. 

Through this webinar series, we will showcase some projects from North America who answered a call for projects with a clear focus on diversity, equity and inclusion. They have shown significant impact and will highlight replicable ideas for other newsrooms with actionable takeaways for local media. 

Innovation Challenge Webinar: Spotlight on societal impacts and sustainability in local media

Thursday, Jan. 27, 2022
11 a.m. Eastern / 10 a.m. Central / 9 a.m. Mountain / 8 a.m. Pacific 

See inside the projects at Gray Television and LMA’s Word In Black, which focus on societal issues and addressing marginalized populations.

Gray Television created a resource to help people in the geographically connected but demographically diverse regions of Appalachia and the Mississippi Delta access health information, and resources to improve quality of life. In June, the company launched a standalone app for their project to improve health outcomes, and are now building landing pages at all stations. Glen Hale, vice president of digital content and audience development, will share how Gray TV approached the need for information and how the project aligns with greater, long-term goals. 

Related article: https://localmedia.org/2021/02/gray-television-to-help-mississippi-delta-appalachia-audience-find-health-resources/ 

Word In Black is a collaboration with LMA and 10 of the nation’s leading Black publishers with a goal to shape how the nation understands and addresses systemic issues of race, justice and equity. The collaborative combines groundbreaking news reporting efforts with the key element of business sustainability. WordInBlack.com soft launched in late 2020 and then officially launched in May 2021 with a new Newspack website, national newsletter and membership strategy. Individuals, foundations and corporate sponsors have supported WIB since launching with $2 million in funding. The newsletter now has over 32,000 subscribers and growing. Andrew Ramsammy, LMA chief content and collaboration officer, along with founding members of Word In Black, will share how the collaborative is a testing ground for business transformation among local news publishers, and what tactics have worked to grow audience and revenue. 

Related article: 

https://www.editorandpublisher.com/stories/word-in-black-helping-the-black-press-survive-thrive,202915 

The webinar is free to attend and will be moderated by Sarah Hartley, GNI Innovation Challenge.

Click here to register.